Short Story #3

This is again another attempt to appease my emotional excess. Read on and give me your critical opinions,folks! 😀


The streets were dark and intimidating. There was no moon that night .

It was all but endless , smooth, even darkness.

How it came to be night or why I was not in the comfort of my home, I didn’t know. All I knew was that I was lost ,somewhere dark  and nerve wracking.

There was not a soul in sight if the dark would let them be seen nor the rustle of a leaf.

I cautiously moved, one step at a time, searching for light, a safe path in the blinding darkness.

Slowly, my eyes adjusted to the dark haze and I could make out the tall buildings that lined down the road.

The windows were all shut, I imagined . No light came from them. I stood still for a moment taking in the darkness and the shapes I could make out. I crept up to what seemed to be a wall and sank down on the floor.

I sat there for hours and hours. Somehow, time would not move on.

Solitude, I loved. But not for one moment in my life did I think that I’d want company, a hand to hold.

The quiet place near the sea where I sat lost in thought watching the waves kiss the shores  came to memory.

I started pretending that this was also such a place, where I could be alone when  I wished. But fear wouldn’t loosen her hold on me. I couldn’t pretend that the depths of darkness didn’t scare me.

I remembered the nights I spent under the starry sky. I would just lie on the terrace staring up at the sky.

What I thought, I had no idea.  I would  lie awake a long time and then the  cold air would wrap her arms around me and I’d soon fall asleep in her embrace.

This place was quiet. That was what  most scared me here. Only if there was some noise. I longed to hear the kids play, the banging of doors , the TV at its loudest, the pigeons coo.

The solitude was killing my nerves. I closed my eyes in an attempt to relax .

I did not know when I fell asleep. When I opened my eyes it was morning and I was curling  on a lonely pavement . The streets were deserted . There was not even a bird up in the sky. I walked into a building . It was empty. I went inside a loft. It was furnished to my taste. There was food but strangely, I was not hungry. I walked around. All the other apartments were empty. I trotted along the road hoping to meet someone.

The places seemed to make sense now. I was near  home.

The park was empty. There was not a kid running around or even a slight breeze pushing the swings. I was distraught.

I was alone and grief took over me but I couldn’t cry.

I walked towards my house and opened the door. The plants were just like I last saw them. The house looked just like I left it except there was no unceasing noise of my sisters and family.  It was empty of the people I loved.

I sank down on my knees and wept.

St John’s Hospital

Her mother, her father and her sisters crowded around her bed, hoping that one moment soon  she would open her eyes.


Jovi!

Copyrighted.com Registered & Protected  EFHM-BBUD-BCVE-9HY8

2 thoughts on “Short Story #3

Leave a Reply

