On getting out of the rut #1

I used to think that the Israelites were ungrateful brats. And that if the Lord, did the same things for me , if he brought me out of my chains, if he parted the seas for me, if he made the Sun stand still for me, if he took down the wall of Jericho for me, if he parted heavens and showered down heavenly food when I was hungry, I would be eternally grateful. But you know what? He did those for me. He moved my mountains and brought forth new springs for me, and yet  I wasn’t grateful, not in the least.

A few weeks back, I was despairing over what next. I am stuck, and it’s been a year. I kept thinking that I made the wrong choice choosing physics and suffering through Masters. I felt like I can’t go ahead and that I won’t get into a PhD program,  I was worrying my head off and then it struck me, what a hypocrite I was being,  God moved mountains for me and there I was whining. My final semester, I had a paper called spectroscopy, still don’t understand a word of it or even quantum mechanics for that matter. Anyway, I slept through the final exam, I mugged up the whole thing over so much coffee the night before and didn’t sleep a wink. There was literally nothing on my answer sheet, the ones I knew the answers to I messed up the question numbers and I forgot half way through the answers. I knew I would fail. The month that I was waiting for my results, I would just stare at my convocation tickets and feel guilty that my parents wouldn’t be able to go. But my mom, she prayed, she had faith and you know what, even when I had no faith, He was faithful, the results came and I passed, a miracle no short. There were people who failed but I didn’t. He did the impossible for me and there I was whining, worrying, and being ungrateful. If it’s his will, it will fall right into your hands, if it’s not it will fall through and be gracious and know that He has the best in store for you. No man has seen, no man has dreamt what the Almighty has kept for you. Be gracious and hold on to hope, look back and be grateful for his love.

I stopped worrying over what next and there is a calm now. He says he cares for you, He understands you and he wants you to place your burdens at his feet so he can be there for you. Trust him with all of you and  have faith,even when you feel like there is no other  way. Remember his miracles. So when life gives you a mean kick, and if you are in a rut like I am, know that things will change for you and hold on, because all will be well.

Leave a Reply

